How Can You Hibernate Your Account on LinkedIn?

enable LinkedIn hibernate account feature

Take a Break from Your LinkedIn Account Temporarily Without Losing Your Data.

If you want to disappear from LinkedIn without losing your account with just a few clicks, then dive in to know how you can do that with the hibernate feature on LinkedIn In. LinkedIn lets you take a break from the platform by offering them a feature to hibernate their LinkedIn account.

How Does the Hibernate Feature on LinkedIn Work?

The feature to hibernate your LinkedIn account enables its users to step away from their LinkedIn account. This means your interaction and experiences are momentarily put on hold, and others would not have access to view your profile. Your profile, connections, endorsements, recommendations, and other data are concealed from the platform and search engines while you are in hibernation.

Hibernating your account has obvious advantages. Because LinkedIn saves your relationships, data, and settings for you, they are all secure. You can always un-hibernate your account if you are ready to reconnect to the network.

Why Do People Hibernate Their LinkedIn Account?

The most frequent justification is to take a break. However, there are occasions when clearing your workspace of any interruptions will help you concentrate better. There might be many reasons why people want to hibernate their LinkedIn accounts. These reasons can be broadly divided into two categories :

Professional burnout : Constant LinkedIn networking and contact can grow tiresome for professionals. You may benefit from taking a much-needed break from the platform by hibernating your account.

Privacy issues : You could desire to maintain the secrecy of your professional information for a specific period due to various factors, including job changes, personal choices, or security considerations.

Hibernating your account could be helpful if you have other, more important things going on.

What Are the Key Differences Between Account Deletion, Deactivation, and Hibernation?

On LinkedIn, account deletion, deactivation, and hibernation have varied uses:

Deletion of Accounts:

Deleting your LinkedIn account is a permanent move. Your recommendations, contacts, and other data will all be permanently deleted. If you choose to use LinkedIn again, you must start fresh and create a new account. Therefore, it’s advisable not to delete your account without prior planning.

Account Deactivation:

If you choose to deactivate your account, it will temporarily disable it. But, even if your account is deactivated, people can still view your account, which is not in case of hibernation.
Hibernating your account puts your complete LinkedIn profile on hold and prevents other users from accessing it, as was previously discussed. When compared to an account deactivation, it offers more privacy.

What Are the Limitations and Effects of Account Hibernation on Your Profile?

Although hibernation might be beneficial and allow you some downtime, there are drawbacks as well:

Your LinkedIn profile, connections, and other information will all be unavailable. To obtain access to everything once more, you must reactivate your account.

Missed opportunities:

If your account is inactive, you risk missing out on networking opportunities, industry news, or job openings. Before entering hibernation, recruiters may have contacted you, but you won’t be able to reply.

Loss of visibility:

Hibernating your account hides your profile from other LinkedIn users and search engines. During hibernation, be ready for a brief loss of visibility and potential professional influence.

Impact on search rankings:

It’s important to remember that hibernating your LinkedIn account can affect your search rankings. It could take time for your profile to regain its prior search ranking when you un-hibernate your account.

How can you export your data before hibernating your LinkedIn account?

It’s important to save your important data before hibernating your LinkedIn account. Information like contacts, endorsements, articles, registration, connections and more. By following these steps you can save your data :

  • Go to your LinkedIn home page and under the me section click on the “Setting & Privacy”.
settings and privacy options linkedin
  • Under the “Data privacy” section click on the “Get a copy of your data”.
linkedin settings privacy options
  • Select the data that you want to save and download it by clicking on “Request Archive
request_arch
After your data is downloaded successfully you will get an email containing the link from where you can download your data.

How Can You Hibernate Your LinkedIn Account?

If you plan to take a break from the social media platform or want to be undetected by your client, then the following steps will help you hibernate your linkedIn account.

  • Go to the me account and click on the “Setting and Privacy”.
settings and privacy options linkedin
  • From there click on the “Account preferences” there you will see the option of “Account management” under that tile you will “Hibernate account” click on that.
account preference settings
  • In the “Hibernate account” section you can select the reason you want to hibernation and click “Next”
LinkedIn Data Privacy Settings
  • Now set the security password to make this change after which you can hibernate your account.
Account Preferences linkedin

In these simple steps you can hibernate your LinkedIn account.

How Can I Reactivate a Hibernated LinkedIn Account?

You can reactivate your LinkedIn account any time after 24 hours of hibernating your account. After then, the procedures are really easy to follow:

  • Log in to your LinkedIn account by going to the homepage.
  • Select “Reactivate” from the menu.
  • Your entire data set is automatically recovered.

FAQ’s

It may be put into hibernation for as long as you choose.

Data loss does not affect user connections, messages, endorsements, or recommendations.

The hibernation time may cause some elements, such as search appearances or profile view statistics, to reset. It’s vital to be aware that some account activity-related insights could be lost. Overall, LinkedIn reassures users that during the hibernation time, their data is secure and well-protected.

There is no set number of times that you can put your account into hibernation.

No notifications are sent for it on LinkedIn. It’s important to note that any posts you have scheduled during the hibernation time won’t be published, so you’ll need to schedule them again once your account is activated.

Log into LinkedIn, that’s all. To return your account to its previous state, take the actions asked.

Hibernating your account suspends your presence on LinkedIn momentarily, whereas deactivating your account deletes your profile, connections, and any related data forever. Only during hibernation, not after deletion, is restoration possible.

LinkedIn does not yet have a set time limit for account hibernation. However, the platform may get in touch with you to validate the current hibernation if it discovers a potential security problem.

No, during account hibernation on LinkedIn, your profile, including your connections, recommendations, and endorsements, won’t be viewable or searchable.

No, you cannot receive LinkedIn messages or connection requests from other users.